Various - Licence To Thrill Part 5 / 12"


Licence To Thrill Part 5

12" |
date in:

catalogue number:

genre: Dubstep
in stock
add to box
add to wishbox
Description of Various Licence To Thrill Part 5

Kicking off part 5 of the series are Dub Police regulars. The Others with one serious riddim in 'Everybody Do The Superskank'. Bone crushing, mechanical beats and snarling basslines are in order with eerie soundscapes and a super catchy synth. Guaranteed to tear down any dance - think Robocop on steroids. L-Wiz, Dub Police's answer to Abba - yet again manage to deliver an absolutely mind blowing and spine tingling track, that will send tingles down your spine. 'Amy Diamond' is carried along by a loose beat, warm bass, and beautiful synths and melodies in typical mesmerising L-Wiz fashion. Scandinavian counterparts Dubwoofa round off the EP with the seriously dark 'Nightmares', which makes black metal sound like nursery rhymes with its erie soundscapes, tribal beats, dark warping bass and hints of atmospheric pianos.

Bookmark and Share

Also by Various

Title:All In! Ten Years Of Poker Flat
Label:Poker Flat Recordings
10 years ago an up and coming DJ & Producer named Steve Bug launched a label as an output for a very special new sound... And thus Poker Flat Recordings was born! 10 years on, over 100 singles, and 23 albums later the label has risen from glorious strength to strength, boasting an international artist roster including the most revered names in the scene. This anniversary compilation is a real must have!
Label:Keep Up!
Keep Up!, returns fresh for 2009 with another 45 of beaty, bassy goodness. KEEP001 and KEEP002 received massive radio and club support from such people as Mr Scruff, DJ Food and Tim Love Lee so Keep Up!'s 3rd release stays true to the previous instalments with something for everyone. This double A-sider mixes dancefloor action one side and neck-snapping beats on the flip. Tom Central builds on the success of smash The World Famous with Akama (with long-time friend and collaborator Ben Kaitain Leighton) and Ave Blaste and Lopez team up for solid soulful hip hop with Change the Channel in the first of many collaborations to come. Akama sounds like the end product of what might happen if Tipper befriended Miles from Breakestra backstage at a music festival. Using Tom Central's trademark raw uptempo hip hop backbeats and big bass, Akama drops hard with alternating, wobbly b-lines throughout the track. Fx fizz around as the rhythm and bass twists and turns. Guaranteed to make a giant thud on any dancefloor in the heat of the night! Change The Channel maintains the hip hop sound but on a cinematic, scale. Dramatic brass, string stabs and live bass hold down the groove. With a dap of 60s psychedelia and modern production, Change The Channel is perfect for those late night sessions or warming up your basement party.
Title:Producer 2 Part 1
Label:Fat City
This is the first 7" in a series of 4 featuring tracks taken from the forthcoming Producer 2 album set for release in the Autumn. Producer 2 features a collection of new and resurfaced tracks focusing on the world's finest and most invigorating beat makers, bringing together all the most exciting elements around today from Hip Hop, electronica and beyond in the post - Dilla generation. Featured artists include Dabrye, Mike Slott, Carlos Nino. Daedelus, Illum Sphere, Andy Votel, Bullion, Ras G & Low Limit. This 7" includes "Home" by Mike Slott, one half of Heralds Of Change and well known for his releases on All City. He's recently remixed Flying Lotus and is in the proces of completing a collaborative project with Martyn. Mike is also the studio brains behind many of Rustie and Hudson Mohawke's best recordings. "Home" a reflective piece incorporating clipped drums, fuzzed stabs and layered haunting melodic vocal sounds, all creating a complex and warmly satisfying groove. Dabrye proabably needs less introduction. After releasing the album "Two / Three" on Ghostly he has been concentrating more on his James T Cotton minimal techno productions. But back to the hiphop here, with "Walk" he drops an unstoppable beat utilising extra wide drums that bound through the track interwoven with an almost choral flanged vocal and whipping filtered synth sounds.
Title:Wigflex EP
For the past few years, Nottingham's Wigflex night in has made clued up ravers jump and twist to some of the weirdest, most fucked up and cutting edge electronic music around. The Wigflex ethos is essentially "keep it unpredictable (and fun)", with a soundtrack ranging from dubstep, tech haus and techno to bleep hop, wonky bumps and, well, pretty much anything else. That unpredictability has been carried over brilliantly into this EP. Check it out!

Also on Dub Police

Artist:Trolley Snatcha
Title:One Trick Pony EP (Double 12")
Label:Dub Police
As anyone will know, Dub Police is one of the dubstep scene's leading labels, having helped launch the careers of artists like Caspa and Rusko into the dance music stratosphere. The label's ethos has always been about giving the next generation a step up and the next wave of superstar producers has arrived as the Dub Police war machine continue to roll ever onward towards world domination. Trolley Snatcha is the latest artist to receive the Dub Police stamp of approval with his diverse four-tracker the 'One Trick Pony' EP. Proving that he is anything but, Trolley turns out a selection of tunes that display a mature and open-minded approach to dubstep. From the ear-battering Trolley trademarks that litter 'Pass Me By' and 'Rocco's Revenge' to the smoothed out bliss of 'Always On My Mind' and the light techno touches of 'We Go Deep', this EP will grab the attention of anyone with a keen ear for quality music. DJ Support: Caspa, Rusko, Skream, The Others and Benga.
Title:Eclipse (3 x 12" & CD)
Label:Dub Police
This format is 3x12" Vinyl in a gatefold sleeve with the full 11 track CD inside. Dub Police are proud to announce the release of their first artist album courtesy of Birmingham-based producer Emalkay, who is set to release his hotly anticipated debut LP 'Eclipse' this Spring. First making a name for himself with early releases on his own Morphic Sounds imprint, Emalkay has continued to push the boundaries of underground bass music ever since, delivering a slew of huge releases on the way. Having been an integral part of the Dub Police stable ever since his 'Explicit / Heroics' 12" for the label in 2009, Emalkay has gone from strength to strength with a series of heavyweight tracks that includes the phenomenal 'When I Look At You' and recent smash 'Crusader'. Comprised of 11 tracks, 'Eclipse' is a bold and powerful album encapsulating perfectly everything that makes Emalkay such a prodigious talent, effortlessly showcasing the depth and diversity of his sound while always remaining true to his inimitable style. As addictive as it is hard-hitting, the album doesn't just provide a collection of dancefloor tracks, but a confident and coherent artistic statement. A brilliantly confident and varied debut album, 'Eclipse' is set to cement Emalkay's place as one of the biggest and most exciting producers working in bass music today.