Corrosion' is the sound-expanding and often-stunning new album from one of Ireland's unsung electronic heroes, Anodyne'. Known for his mind shredding live shows, Colin N Cloughley aka Anodyne returns after a 14 year hiatus to present his latest opus, which effortlessly blends elements of old skool rave, electro and breakbeat into a darkly beautiful electronic LP. Thinking of himself as more of a programmer than a musician, Anodyne utilizes his own, home built plug-ins and circuit bent instruments to great effect throughout the album's 12 tracks. From the outset of minimalistic opener 'When The Sky Fell Down', swiftly followed by the epic strings and breakbeats of 'Close Your Eyes', the listener is lead into experiments in dark electro, acid and ambient before returning to the stunning 'Wasteland', with its driving electronic pulse surrounded by warm, sombre strings, evoking memories of the glory days of electronic innovation. 'Chemical Sunset', which was inspired by a drive through Dublin as sunlight faded, is a beautiful example of the Anodyne's artistic vision of techno. 'Walk Into Darkness', a dark ambient journey ruptured with clinical, austere beats leads into the albums closing track, the end of the night anthem, 'Alchemy'. Taking influence from classic electronic albums by Autechre, Black Dog and U-Ziq, 'Corrosion' was made for those who dream of the future.
Artist:Various Artists
Title:Taobh Tuathail #3
An Taobh Tuathail Vol. III' is the new compilation CD from RTE (Ireland) cult underground music show An Taobh Tuathail ("The Other Side"), which celebrates ten years on the air this year. The 15 track compilation is once again compiled by mainman Cian 0 Ciobhain. In his own words O Ciobhain says: "The CD features torch songs from contemporary female vocalists such as Essie Jain and Roshi ft Pars Radio. It also includes elegiac electronica from Gdsank-based composer Jacasek, and The Caretaker, an artist currently residing in Berlin, whose explorations in music and memory have intrigued me. There's a beautiful song from Austin band Peter & The Wolf which has been played regularly on the show since its release in 2006. Also, to have stellar songs from established artists like Animal Collective and Circlesquare on the disc means a lot to me. Closer to home, the CD includes tracks by Dublin's Rollers/Sparkers, Kilkenny's R.S.A.G. and Galway's Loner Deluxe and B-Movie Lightning (aka Mike Smalle, previously of Cane 141, whose tracks were featured on the other two compilations). Elsewhere, Mount Kimbie's magical dub-excursion 'Maybes' was the first track played on the show in 2009... so let the disc speak for itself...